German Open Helicopter Championships

The Championships took place at Zweibrucken, 2nd – 5th September. In very hot weather 26 teams from Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Great Britain participated. The Senior Event was won by Holger Hoven and Michael Schaeff (Germany) with Dr. Peter Mennel and Martina Mennel (Austria) a very close second. The Junior Championship was won by Marcelle Stegmuller and Jens Scholpp (Germany), the runner up being Maximilian Stoschek and Hubert Gesang (Germany) Particular congratulations were directed to Sabine Nendza and Diana Geyer (Germany) Sabine entered the event 8 weeks after qualifying as a helicopter pilot and having 70 hours total experience. Commission President David Hamilton was appointed President of the Jury and adds his congratulations to all who participated and to the organisers and judges.