Main decisions taken at the FAI Microlight & Paramotor Commission 2013 Annual Meeting

logo cima 01 rgb 72dpiThe 2013 Annual Meeting of the FAI Microlight and Paramotor Commission (CIMA) was held from 22 to 23 November 2013 in Phuket, Thailand.

Here are the main decisions that were taken during the meeting:

Future competitions




  • 14th FAI World Microlight Championships   
    Preliminary bids from Great Britain and Slovakia (competition awarded in 2014)

Check out the calendar for all Microlight and Paramotor past and future events.

Sporting Code changes

Amendments will be included in the 2013 Version of Sporting Code Section 10.


The Ann Welch Diploma was awarded to Chris ATKINSON from Australia (posthumously).

FAI Record File Num #16740
Status: ratified - current record
Region: World
Class: R (Microlights and paramotors)
Sub-Class: RPF1Tm (Paramotors : Paraglider Control / Foot-launched / Flown with one person / Thermal Engine / Male category)
Category: Not applicable
Group: Not applicable
Type of record: Distance in a closed circuit with limited fuel
Performance: 170.50 km
Date: 2013-02-10
Course/Location: Helidon (Australia)
Claimant Chris Atkinson (AUS)
Microlight: Dudek Hadron
Engine(s): Bailey V 5

2013 Paramotor World League Cup winners:


  1. KRZYZANOWSKI Grzegorz (POL)
  2. MALKUSZ Andrzej (POL)
  3. SEDIVY Jakub (CZE)

Teams (see pictures below):

  1. Poland
  2. Czech Republic
  3. Thailand

Bureau Elections

President : Richard MEREDITH-HARDY (GBR)
1st Vice President : Wolfgang LINTL (GER)
2nd Vice President : Jose-Luis ESTEBAN (ESP)
Secretary : Erzsebet VIZAKNAI (HUN)
Treasurer : Patrice GIRARDIN (FRA)

Subcommittee Chairs

Paramotor SC Chairman:  Wojtek DOMANSKI
New / Microlight SC Chairman:  Wolfgang LINTL
New / Section 10 SC Chairman:Richard MEREDITH-HARDY
Internal Regulations SC Chairman:  Patrice GIRARDIN
Flight Recorder Approval Committee SC Chairman:  Richard MEREDITH-HARDY
Information Technology SC Chairman: Jose-Luis ESTEBAN
World League Cup WG Chairman: Wojtek DOMANSKI
New / Hybrid Working Group with a view to defining definitions and new classes for hybrid powered aircraft: Patrice GIRARDIN
New / Team Medals Working Group to devise a simple and effective way for FAI Head Office to deliver team medals after the event, for implementation before WMC and WPC 2014. Members: CIMA Bureau

Technical Representatives & Special Duties

CIMP : Wolfgang LINTL
New / CIEA : HAN Zhaofang
EnvC : none
Asian Beach Games 2014 Technical Delegate (for paramotors): Richard MEREDITH-HARDY

World Air Games Liaison Officers:

  • Paramotors: Richard MEREDITH-HARDY
  • Microlights: Carlos TRIGO

 .New / CIMA Historian: Tom GUNNARSON

Next Meeting

The next FAI Microlight and Paramotor Commission annual meeting will take place from 27 to 29 November 2014 in Lausanne, Switzerland.


[flickr set=72157638725056566]