Life in CIVL Bureau is fun, and we sometimes have to answer very seriously some weird question. Remember the last Plenary when we had to decide if pilots flying tandem could compete in an individual world championship? Today we have to determine if a paraglider pilot can finish his competition or record flight under his reserve parachute and not be penalized… Here is the letter we received from a pilot: The Sporting Code states: 1.6.4 Uncompleted flight A flight is deemed to be uncompleted if: a.. - An accident occurs during the flight resulting in the death of any member of the crew within 48 hours, or; b.. - Any part of the hang glider or its equipment is shed or jettisoned other than permitted jettisonable equipment, ballast or fuel declared in advance. What happens in a competition or on a record flight if a paraglider pilot throws his reserve and dumps his glider via quick release carabineers? What if he then uses a delta type steerable reserve to land? Should pilots try and maintain contact with their glider if they have deployed their reserve during a competition or record attempt? Pilots could be penalised in accordance to paragraph 1.6.4 during a competition or record flight by using quick release carabineers to be safe, while a hang glider pilot or other type of pilot can be seriously injured but still receive their points or award due to an accident, provided they stay alive! Here are two of the Bureau reflections. The matter will be forwarded to the HG and PG committees. First Bureau member... If it is a paragliding competition, a paragliding pilot must fly a paraglider (not reserve) to gain points. If no rule makes the flight invalid, then the flight is valid up to the point where the pilot stops flying the paraglider (switches to reserve). You are not allowed to change wings in middle of flight :-) Paragraph 1.6.4 (same for both 7a and 7b) seems to make flights invalid (incomplete) if the pilot releases the glider (hg or pg) from the harness. So incomplete flight, no points in comp and no record if in record setting. Second Bureau member... 1. What happens in a competition or on a record flight if a paraglider pilot throws his reserve and dumps his glider via quick release carabineers? The pilot will be changing his wing in mid flight by deploying the reserve thereby invalidating his record attempt/competition flight irrespective of "quick release/cut away system" carabineers or regular steel/aluminium carabineers and non steer able or steer able "Rogallo" type reserve. In competition, points are awarded for the achieved/flown distance. In record attempts there are no official records achieved, unless it's a personal one like... safe spot landing, without injuries. 2. Should pilots try and maintain contact with their glider if they have deployed their reserve during a competition or record attempt? Well yes, it's unlikely that the pilot has a ready stock of paragliders in his baggage, should he wish to continue in the following days competition or record attempts. There are a number of different reserve deployment systems available to both hang and paragliders, there is a cut away system that has been developed for paragliders, a compressed air propelled reserve deployment system for both hang and paragliders, but for the most part the hang glider has always remained attached to the reserve and the paraglider remains attached to the pilot via his harness with the exception of the "cut away system" where wing and reserve are separated after reserve deployment (in the air). This has some minor benefits as far as reserve deployment times and steer ability of reserve is concerned, however it has a costly side effect for that extra second. Both wings are not considered flyable once the reserve has been deployed. It could be considered prudent to have a "quick release" system for the reserve, or a handy web cutter.