The 22nd FAI World Hot Air Balloon Championships kick off in Saga today!

2016 Logo_JPG_copyThis will be the 3rd time (1989, 1997 and 2016) that Saga is hosting the FAI World Championships.


The best of FAI 2016 competitions video is here!

2016 10_24_BestOf_Video_Picture_Twitter

The best of FAI 2016 competitions video is here!

Have a look at FAI's compilation video of the main competitions of the season 2016:


German Chancellor Angela Merkel given special award from Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett

Merkel Klett_resized

The Chancellor of Germany, Angela Merkel, received an official trophy on 30 September 2016 to mark her involvement with this year’s Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett.


Red Bull Air Race 2016: Matthias Dolderer clinches Championship win

RBAR indianapolis_3Over 62,000 fans witnessed pilot Matthias Dolderer write new motorsport history on 1–2 October 2016, as the German won the Red Bull Air Race  debut at the legendary Indianapolis Motor Speedway and clinched his first World Championship – and the first for Germany – in the process.


Hello IWGA The World Games: Meet the pilots

jeannieHello IWGA The World Games: Meet Jeannie and Curt Bartholomew from the USA, the first married couple who will represent Canopy Piloting in The World Games!


On this day in history: 110 years of the world’s most prestigious balloon race

29930498596 314ae9ba92_oOne hundred and ten years ago on 30 September 1906 US aviator Lieutenant Frank Purdy Lahm won the first ever Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett, a prestigious balloon race that still takes place today.


Paragliding included into the Asian Games 2018!

paragliding-azoom.chThe Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) has agreed to include Paragliding into the 18th Asian Games 2018.

The decision was taken at the OCA General Assembly that took place in Danang, Vietnam, on 25 September 2016.


To the victors the spoils! Swiss pilots reign at Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett 2016

GB2016 prize-giving_all_pilotsSwitzerland’s Kurt Frieden and Pascal Witpraechtiger (Team SUI 1) were crowned champions of the 60th Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett – the world’s most prestigious gas balloon race – at an elegant ceremony in Gladbeck, northwest Germany tonight.


Gas balloons touch down in Greece for the very first time

Greece SUI1Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett 2016 champions - Switzerland’s Kurt Frieden and Pascal Witpraechtiger (Team SUI 1) - made history when they landed in Stavros in central Greece during this year’s race.


How to survive 48 hours - or more - in a 1m2 gas balloon basket

FotorCreated team large 2Gas balloon racing teams often spend days in the air - sharing a tiny space and sometimes dealing with stressful situations. Here, Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett pilots explain what makes a partnership capable of surviving a long-distance flight in such cramped conditions.


Victory for Switzerland’s Kurt Frieden and Pascal Witpraechtiger


It’s official! After flying 1,803.40 kilometres from Gladbeck in northwest Germany to Stavros in central Greece, Switzerland’s Kurt Frieden and Pascal Witpraechtiger (Team SUI-01) have won the 60th Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett.

The champions – the first gas balloon pilots ever to fly in Greek airspace – will be presented with their medals in Gladbeck tomorrow evening.

See the full, official results of the 2016 edition of the world’s oldest and most prestigious gas balloon race at http://bit.ly/2cMJq3U.