Main decisions taken at the FAI Gliding Commission 2012 Annual Meeting

logo igc 01 cmyk moyenThe 2012 Annual Meeting of the FAI Gliding Commission (IGC) was held on 2 and 3 March 2012 in Potchefstroom, South Africa.

Here are the main decisions that have been taken during the meeting:

IGC President Bob Henderson formally advised the IGC Bureau and the IGC Delegates of his intention to pass the Presidency of the IGC to 1st Vice President Eric Mozer, who therefore became Acting President until the next Annual Meeting of the FAI Gliding Commission.

Dick Bradley is co-opted to the Bureau from 1 May after Visa-Matti Leinikki takes up his position as IT Manager at the FAI.

Future competitions


  • 7th FAI Woman’s World Gliding Championships 2015
    Awarded to : Arnborg, Denmark
  • 8th FAI Junior’s World Gliding Championships 2015
    Awarded to : Narromine, Australia
  • 18th FAI European Gliding Championships 2015
    Awarded to : Ocseny, Hungary (18m, 20m and Open) and Rieti, Italy (Standard, Club and 15m) – joint bid

Sporting Code Changes

Amendments will be included in the 2013 Version of Sporting Code Section 3.


Lilienthal Medal
Awarded to : Giorgio GALETTO (ITA)

Pelagia Majewska Medal
Awarded to : Gill VAN DEN BROECK (BEL)

Pirat Gehriger Diploma
Awarded to : Andrea TOMASI (ITA)

Next meeting

The next FAI Gliding Commission annual meeting will take place on 1 and 2 March 2013.


 [flickr set=72157629577575085]