12 Nov 2013

6th FAI Sailplane Grand Prix series

The FAI Gliding Commission (IGC) is pleased to announce the venues for the 6th FAI Sailplane Grand Prix (SGP) series. The seven venues for the Qualifying Grand Prix events, which will be held in 2014 and 2015, are :

 Country Location
SpainLa Cerdanya
South AfricaWorcester
ChileSantiago de Chile
AustraliaLake Keepit


Further details of all the venues and dates can be found at www.sgp.aero

There remains the possibility for one more SGP qualifying event to be approved for the 2014-2015 series. Interested organisations should apply to roland@sgp.aero before the end of December 2013.

The 6th World Sailplane Grand Prix Final has been awarded to Varese, Italy and will be take place in September 2015.

We would also like to remind you that the 5th FAI World GP Gliding Championship final will be held from the 9th to the 16th of May 2014 in the beautiful alpine region of Haute Provence at Sisteron airfield in southern France. The SGP Final is the climax of the 5th Sailplane Grand Prix series and brings together all the winners of the SGP qualifying events to participate in 7 days of intense competition to find out who is the best sailplane racing pilot and the new Sailplane Grand Prix World Champion.

Please visit www.sgp.aero for news and updates on Sailplane Grand Prix events.

Brian Spreckley
Sailplane Grand Prix management group