

Chronicle

**IGC CHAMPION PILOT OF THE YEAR** 

## World Soaring Cup

- 1995 History of the World Soaring Cup: The Cup was donated by glider pilots of New Zealand to be awarded to the best Team in a WGC competition for the first time at the 24<sup>th</sup> WGC in Omarama/New Zealand. The Cup was presented for the last time to the winning Team Great Britain at the 33<sup>rd</sup> WGC 2014 in Leszno / Poland.
- 2018 Decisions from IGC Plenary 2018 Meeting- Freudenstadt: 8.1.8 The World Soaring Cup (WSC) is to be awarded annually to the

## IGC CHAMPION PILOT OF THE YEAR.

**The World Soaring Cup** needed a refurbishment. After completing a laborious work the Cup returned in the former splendor thanks to the sponsorship of a german glider pilot.

## Rules for the competition – IGC CHAMPION PILOT OF THE YEAR

A Qualifying Competition is any FAI-sanctioned World Gliding Championship that becomes valid in a given Championship calendar year. The IGC CHAMPION PILOT OF THE YEAR will be selected from the Champions in all the classes in all Qualifying Competitions. The selection will be made after the date of the Closing Ceremony of the final Qualifying Competition of the Championship calendar year.

In each class in each Qualifying Competition.

- The World Champion's Final Score (FS) is the final score of the World Champion.
- The Maximum Possible Score (MPS) is the sum of the winning scores of every valid competition day.
- The World Champion's <u>World Soaring Cup Score</u> (CS) is : CS = 100 x FS / MPS

Each Championship Calendar Year, the World Champion with the highest WSC Score will be given the title of the **IGC CHAMPION PILOT OF THE YEAR** and awarded the **World Soaring Cup**. Ties will result in Co-Champions.

The **World Soaring Cup** and a FAI Diploma will be awarded to the new IGC **CHAMPION PILOT OF THE YEAR** as soon as practical at the conclution of the final WGC of the Championship Calendar Year.The winner has the option of having the WSC shipped to him/her by FAI or receiving the WSC at the IGC Plenary Meeting normally held in February/March.

The current IGC **CHAMPION PILOT OF THE YEAR** will surrender the **WORLD SOARING CUP** on or before December 15<sup>th</sup> in the year he/she has held the WSC: FAI to make arrangements for shipping the WSC either to FAI Home Office in Lausanne or to the new IGC **CHAMPION PILOT OF THE YEAR** 

A historical record of the **WORLD SOARING CUP** will be kept in the FAI/IGC archives and every current and former IGC **CHAMPION PILOT OF THE YEAR** will be chronicled on the FAI/IGC website.

As used above, a Championship Calendar Year is the year for which the World Gliding Championship was awarded by the Plenary.



**Chronicle of the IGC CHAMPION PILOT OF THE YEAR** 

## IGC CHAMPION PILOT OF THE YEAR

2018	Michael Sommer, Germany	35th WGC Open Class	Hosin/Czech Republic

2019 Melanie Gadoulet, France 10<sup>th</sup> WWGC 18m Class Lake Keepit / Australia

FAI Challenge Cup Manager's report to IGC Plenary 2020