CIAM FAI Report of the RC Soaring Subcommittee Activities from January to November 2020

The RC Sailing Subcommittee has fifteen members. The work of the subcommittee and especially sports activities were affected by the restrictions associated with the Covid-19 pandemic. The F3J and F3F World Championships have been postponed to next year, assuming that in 2021 the pandemic will end or at least weaken. The evaluation of the World Cups of all four classes was also cancelled. There were only a few open international competitions in RC Soaring classes.

The CIAM FAI 2020 Plenary Agenda included 14 proposals for rule changes in class F3F, 1 proposal in class F3J, 1 proposal in class F3K and 1 proposal in provisional class F3Q. The evaluation of the proposals to change the rules and the vote in the subcommittee started by correspondence in March 2020. Due to closed borders and limited air traffic, the CIAM plenary session scheduled for April 2020 was cancelled. The debate therefore continued in the following months until the autumn, and the voting within the Subcommittee was finally closed on 7 October 2020. Eight members of the subcommittee voted.

The CIAM Plenary was finally held in October and November 2020 by the Zoom conference (by electronic means) divided in many parts. The RC Soaring Technical Meeting was attended by 27 people on 11 October 2020. Voting on all proposals took place on 6 and 7 November 2020. In the RC Soaring agenda, 11 proposals were approved and 6 were withdrawn by the proposers. The CIAM plenary session itself was scheduled for 14 December 2020.

World Cups

The series of World Cup competitions were cancelled in all four classes of RC soaring. The World Cup coordinators were: Martin Weberschock (GER) for F3B, Erik Schufmann (GER) for F3F, Sotir Lazarkov (BUL) for F3J and Friedmar Richter (GER) for F3K. On September 4, Friedmar sent me an e-mail stating that he had decided to resign from all of his F3K positions, including F3K WCup Coordinator and Technical Expert.

3 December, 2020

Tomas Bartovsky RC Soaring Subcommittee Chairman

Members of the Subcommittee AYMAT SIMO Carles Spain CHRISTENSEN Frik Dahl Denmark DECKER Ralf Germany EDMONDS Terry USA FRICKE Andreas France GAVRILKO Volodymyr Ukraine GOODRUM Craig South Africa **GRINI Jo** Norway **HEIJNE Wout** Netherlands HERZOG Robert Belgium **HOFFMANN** Peter Austria LAZARKOV Sotir S. Bulgaria SCHAUB Rudolf Switzerland SHCHEGOLEV Alexey **Russian Federation**