## Report RC Pylon sub-committee 2020

In 2020 the RC Pylon sub-committee had 20 members.

Rob Metkemeijer fiorimet@xs4all.nl Chairman jamesea1@earthlink.net Jim Allen USA Fernando Bañón fbhracing@hotmail.com Spain Thomas Eriksson teriks@gmail.com Sweden Gerald.Coors@jrs.de Gerald Coors Germany Bruce De Chastel bdechastel@bigpond.com Australia tomas.ciniburk@seznam.cz Czech Republic Tomáš Ciniburk Tjarko van Empel t.empel@upcmail.nl Netherlands

Mauro Fagioli <u>Mauro.fagioli@fastwebnet.it</u> Italy

Trevor Henderson <u>bigtrev@xtra.co.nz</u> New Zealand Geb Jones <u>gaj1@cam.ac.uk</u> United Kingdom

Steve Neu sneu@mac.com USA

Daniel Rotarotad@bluewin.chSwitzerlandYoshinori Satoy-sato@srasi.co.jpJapan

Sergei Skoselev skoselev@gmail.com Russian Federation

Randy Smith <u>pylon.guy@shaw.ca</u> Canada
Elias Sopeoglou <u>info@metalso.gr</u> Greece
Russel van de Westhuizen <u>ruswest@eject.co.za</u> South Africa

Marcelo Arantes Carvalhomarcelo.wings@yahoo.com.brBrazilSebastien Lemonnierle-seb@orange.frFrance

The F3T approvals committee (which is an advisory committee to the Sub Committee) had the following members:

Barrie LeverLancia038@hotmail.comUnited KingdomHans Joachim Schallerhj.schaller@gmx.deGermanyGilles Desgruellesgilles.desgruelles@orange.frFrance

Tomas Andrlik <u>goodlack@goodlack.cz</u> Czech Republic Randy Smith <u>pylon.guy@shaw.ca</u> Canada

Randy Smith <u>pylon.guy@shaw.ca</u> Canada Jim Allen <u>jamesea1@earthlink.net</u> USA

Discussions between members of the sub-committee took place via e-mail and in small groups at (the few) competitions; the main subject in this (non-WC) year was the further integration of the F5D class into pylon racing under the new class name F3E.

The Sub Committee reworked the rules into a more complete format, and in a form closer to the F3D rules without significant rule changes according to a plenary decision in April 2019.

The rules have been created from the F5 general rules for Electric Model Aircraft and the F5D rules. Where the rules were incomplete, additions have been made in line with the F3D rules. The potentially dangerous existing starting procedure in F3E was modified to make it substantially safer.

These rules were discussed in a well-attended technical e-meeting October 17<sup>th</sup> 2020 and approved -with a number of amendments from the technical meeting- at the plenary meeting in November for implementation in 2021.

As a very positive side effect of the Covid-19 crisis it was found that having the technical meetings via electronic means was very productive and with much better attendance than ever before. It should be continued like this.

A serious problem in the Electric Pylon Racing class is that the rules request EDIC approved energy limiters, but EDIC type approved energy limiters do not exist for F3E until now. Action will be taken by the SC chairman together with EDIC working group to get this done before the next WC.

The F3T approvals committee under the chairmanship of Barrie Lever have been working on three new models.

Only one Euro Cup competition was held in F3D, F3T and F3E: in Olomouc (CZE). F3D was won by Bram Lentjes (BEL), 2<sup>nd</sup> Andreas Kaiser (GER), 3<sup>rd</sup> Roman Pojer CZE). F3T was won by Robbert van den Bosch (NED), 2<sup>nd</sup> Paolo Mucedola (ITA), 3<sup>rd</sup> Tomas Ciniburk (CZE)

F3E was won by Jiri Klein (CZE), 2<sup>nd</sup> Tomas Andrlik, 3<sup>rd</sup> Joris Crevecoeur (NED)

The sub-committee chairman has been in regular contact with the organizers of the 2021 World Championship F3D/F5E in Muncie (USA). Bulletin 0 has been prepared accordingly. Preparations of the WC 2021 are running to schedule at the moment. The organizer has stated that February 1<sup>st</sup> will be a decision date for eventual postponement due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Rob Metkemeijer Chairman RC Pylon Racing Sub Committee 20 F3D sub rep 1

fiorimet@xs4all.nl