

January 2015

Report from World Soaring Championships Trophies Manager to the IGC 2015 Plenary

Author: Marina Vigorito

We have six new world champions, as follows:

Current Champions

33rd FAI WGC for 15m, 18m and Open classes – Leszno (Poland)

Class Pilot

15 metersSebastian KawaPoland18mKarol StaryszakPolandOpenMichael SommerGermany

Team Cup awarded to Great Britain

33rd FAI WGC for Club, Standard and 20m double seaters - Räyskälä (Finland)

Class Pilot

Standard Bert Schmelzer Belgium
Club Eric Bernard France
20m Jones Howard Jones Steve Great Britain

Team Cup awarded to Great Britain

The 34th FAI World Gliding Championship will be held in 2016 in Pociunai (Lithuania) for the Club, Standard and 20m Classes and in Benalla (Australia) for the 15m, 18m and Open Classes (January 2017).

The Finnish Aeroclub donated the trophy for the first world championship in the 20m class, which consist of a glass bulb with a glider inside, spinning in a thermal of glass.

Leonardo Brigliadori's sons will donate the trophy for the first 13,5 m class world championship, that will be held in Lithuania in August 2015.

We are still searching the name of the winning Countries of the World Soaring Cup before 2006. Any contribution to write the history of this trophy will be highly appreciated.