

## CIVL 2017 PLENARY – ANNEX 36C BUREAU PROPOSAL – FAI AIR SPORT MEDALS

This medal was established by the FAI Council for the 100th anniversary of Lilienthal's first flights. It may be awarded, at any time, to individuals or groups for outstanding services in connection with air sport activities like work in FAI commissions, organizing World and Continental Championships, training and educating new pilots, or for promoting aviation in general, especially with regard to young people.

**Award the FAI Air Sport Medal** to the organizers of European and World Championships in 2016, in acknowledgment for their dedication to our sport, the hard work involved and the successful outcome.

- Sport Club Cross Country XSC, for the 7<sup>th</sup> FAI World Hang Gliding Class 5, Krushevo, FYR Macedonia and the 19<sup>th</sup> FAI European Hang Gliding Class 1, Krushevo, FYR Macedonia
- Goran Dimikovski, for the 14<sup>th</sup> FAI European Paragliding, Krushevo, FYR Macedonia.
- Hang Gliding and Paragliding Sports Federation of Lithuania, for the 5<sup>th</sup> FAI European Paragliding Accuracy, Kaunas, Lithuania.
- Sport Club ALGA, for the 3<sup>rd</sup> FAI Asian Paragliding Accuracy, Taldykurgan, Kazakhstan.
- Les Chamois Volants, for the 2<sup>nd</sup> FAI World Paragliding Aerobatic, Annecy Lake, France.

## Award the FAI Air Sport Medal to the Paragliding World Cup Association (PWCA).

The first years of the Paragliding World Cup are reported in our 1992 and 1993 Plenary minutes. Blessings from NACs are requested, a CIVL representative is involved. 'Overall, the first year of PWC has been excellent promotion for the sport to both the media and general public'. Almost a quarter-century later, the World Cup, now PWCA, is a lot more than just excellent promotion. It organizes year after year some of our best competitions, crowning top pilots of

both genders. It also has a very positive influence on our competition rules and software. CIVL is proud to propose PWCA for the FAI Air Sport Medal, for no other organizers have done as much as its officials and pilots for paragliding cross-country competitions.

## Countries visited

Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Brasil, Bulgaria, China, Chinese Taipei, Colombia, Croatia, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Macedonia, Mexico, Nepal, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, USA, Venezuela.

## Champions crowned

1992 - Uli Wiesmeier and Nathalie Berger

1993 - Richard Gallon and Camilla Perner

1994 – Jimmy Pacher and Nathalie Berger

1995 – Hans Bollinger and Claire Bernier

1996 – Christian Tamegger and Nathalie Berger

1997 – Jimmy Pacher and Claire Bernier

1998 - Peter Luthi and Claire Bernier

- 1999 Kari Eisenhut and Sandie Cochepain
- 2000 Andy Hediger and Louise Crandal
- 2001 Patrick Berod and Louise Crandal
- 2002 Alex Hofer and Petra Krausova-Slivova
- 2003 Achim Joos and Petra Krausova-Slivova
- 2004 Oliver Rossel and Petra Krausova-Slivova
- 2005 Christian Maurer and Ewa Wisnierska
- 2006 Christian Maurer and Karin Appenzeller
- 2007 Christian Maurer and Anja Kroll
- 2008 Andi Aebi and Anja Kroll
- 2009 Charles Cazeaux and Keiko Hiraki
- 2010 Yann Martail and and Petra Slivova
- 2011 Peter Neuenschwander and and Petra Slivova
- 2012 Aaron Durogati and Nicole Fedele
- 2013 Francisco Javier Reina Lagos and Keiko Iraki
- 2014 Maxime Pinot and Laurie Genovese
- 2015 Stefan Wyss and Seiko Fukuoka-Naville