

January 2013

Report from World Soaring Championships Trophies Manager to the IGC 2013 Plenary

Author: Marina Vigorito

The document has been updated with the names of the 2012 Champions. The history of each trophy and the list of the former champions is now on the IGC website.

We have encountered again many problems with the process to award the Soaring World Cup. In Gonzales Chavez the trophy was not available, because it was awarded by mistake in Uvalde, although the championships were still on going.

The championship is just one, split in two only for safety reason, in order to accommodate six classes, but there are a lot of misunderstanding and sometime the Organisers do not follow the instruction of the IGC Trophy Manager.

I strongly recommend, again, to add a paragraph to the Annex A to clarify the procedure and the responsibilities, in sight of the new process for awarding the Team Cup from the next World Championships. From 2014 we will award an FAI Medal to the winner Team and the protocol and the score must be absolutely clear and understandable for everybody.

I have agreed with the winning teams that the Trophy will be preserved in Poland, where it will be awarded again in 2014 in occasion of the second event of the 33^{rd} FAI WGC (the first event in in Finland).

The last World Class World Championships had been achieved and we have a new Champion that will be in charge for two years. As agreed last year by the Delegates, after the two years in the hand of the winner, the trophy will be stored into the FAI head office of Lausanne.

The Polish Aeroclub will probably offer the World Trophy for the Junior World Gliding Championships. I'm working with the Organisers to finalise the matter.

The 15m class Women's Trophy is broken and it cannot be repaired. The Italian Association of Female Glider Pilots will offer a new trophy, named to Gill van den Broeck, a lady of the skies that will always be a model for all the pilots.

In our records, we do not have the name of the winning Countries of the World Soaring Cup before 2006. Any contribution to write the history of this trophy will be highly appreciated.

Current Champions

32nd FAI WGC for 15m, 18m and Open classes - Uvalde (USA)

Class Pilot

15 meters Sebastian Kawa Poland 18m Zbigniew Nieradka Poland Open Laurent Aboulin France

Winning Team Poland

32nd FAI WGC for Club, Standard and World Classes – Adolfo Gonzales Chaves (Argentina)

Class Pilot

Standard Sebastian Kawa Poland Club Santiago Berca Argentina World Sebastian Riera Argentina

Winning Team Netherland

The 33rd FAI World Gliding Championship will be held in 2014 in Räyskälä (Finland) for the Club, Standard and 20m Classes and in Leszno (Poland) for the 15m, 18m and Open Classes.

Junior's Champions - 7th FAI JWGC Musbach (Germany) 2011

Class Pilot

Standard Felipe Levin Germany Club Tim Kuijpers Netherland

The 8^{th} FAI JWGC will be held in Leszno (Poland) in 2013 - Contact person: Wojciech Scigala poczta@wojtus.net

Women's Champions - 6th FAI WWGC Arboga (Sweden) 2011

Class Pilot

15 meters Susanne Schoedel Germany Standard Sue Kussbach Germany Club Agnete Olesen Denmark

Women's Team Cup 2009: Germany

The 7th FAI JWGC will be held in Issoudun (France) in 2013 - Contact person: Roger Eyrier info@cnvv.net