REPORT FROM THE IGC REPRESENTATIVE TO CASI

For the IGC meeting March 2009 By Tor Johannessen

The FAI General Conference (GC) with the two CASI meetings were held in October in Saint Vincent in the Aosta Valley in Northern Italy.

The CASI Bureau has consisted of President Henk Maertens (Australia), 1st Vice President Sandy Pimenoff (CIMA), Vice Presidents John Aldridge (CIVL), Graeme Windsor (CIP) and Jean-Francois Schwartz (France), and Secretary Gill Winter (France).

Four of the ten NACs elected to be part of CASI were absent this year

The following subjects were discussed and voted upon:

- 1. The General Rules for the World Air Games, a carry-over from last year, were approved unanimously.
- 2. Adoption of Version 2 of FAI's Anti Doping Rules were approved by the votes 12-2.
- 3. A proposal from the Ballooning Commission to modify paragraphs 5.2.2.2 and 5.2.2.3 in the General Sections of the Sporting Code lost.
- 4. A proposal from the Parachuting Commission to modify the General Section to require any NAC hosting a First Category Event to appoint an Event Director, a Public Relations Officer and any other necessary personnel as required by the Air Sport concerned was approved by the votes 12-2.

The Working Group that was to study the two-year old proposals from UK (Sandy Pimenoff, John Aldridge and John Grubbström) had not produced any conclusion. A new Working Group was established, consisting of John Aldridge (chair), John Grubbström and Tomas Backman.

A Working Group to study the rules for Award Ceremonies at FAI Chamionships was set up, consisting of Graeme Windsor (chair), John Aldridge and Tor Johannessen.

As President of the International Air Sport Board (IASB) at the World Air Games 2009, CASI appointed Mike Heuer (CIVA).

At the General Conference all the NACs leaving CASI were re-elected. Consequently the commission will for the next year consist of the representatives from the Air Sport Commissions plus the following countries: Australia, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and USA.

For the new Bureau were elected:

President Henk Maertens (Australia), 1st Vice President John Grubbström (Sweden), Vice Presidents John Aldridge (CIVL), Jean-Pierre Delmas France) and Graeme Windsor (CIP), and Secretary Gill Winter (France).