02 Mar 2019

Day 4 - Saturday, 2 Mar


All competitors and staff were ready for the final round at 08:55 but the weather, with low clouds and fog around the Bubakov mountain did not allow anymore jumps.

In spite of the grey weather, there was great spirit around the target, the speaker Miroslav Jircik called for dancing and karaoke singing to shorten the waiting time. 

Miroslav Jircik calling for dancing and karaoke singing to lessen the waiting time!

The weather did not improve at all, so the Chief Judge posted the final results at 10.00, the Meet Director called for a team leader meeting and asked if anyone would want to wait at the target area until the official end at 2pm. Due to the weather getting worse by the hour, there was an unanimous agreement of all teams and with jury approval, the 17th FAI Para-Ski World Championships 2019 was closed. 

At noon, after the 2 hours protest time, the results became official without any protest and so the afternoon was left for everyone to celebrate or to do some sightseeing in Vrchlabi. 

The award and closing ceremony will take place in front of Gendorf Hotel at 18.00, followed by the closing banquet. 

Final results at http://results.worldskydiving.org/FrontEnd/CompetitionCollection/1022 , where you will also find downloadable pdf results. The new Para-Ski World Champions after 5 jumps and 2 skiing runs are:

World Champion Female: Magda Schwertl (AUT), 6 points and World Champion Male: Sebastian Graser (AUT), 9 points

Female : 
1) Magda Schwertl: AUT, 6 points
2) Christina Franz: SUI, 57 points
3) Julia Schosser: AUT, 109 points

1) Sebastian Graser: AUT, 9 points
2) Alexey Burenin: RUS, 31 points
3) Thomas Saurer: SUI, 38 points

1) Sebastian Graser: AUT, 9 points
2) Ivan Gusikhin:  RUS, 47 points
3) Manuel Sulzbacher: AUT,  59 points

Winner of the Masters: 
1) Thomas Saurer:  SUI, 26 points
2) Anton Gruber:  AUT, 29 points
3) Marco Valente:  ITA, 44 points

1) Austria 1, (Graser, Sulzbacher, Gruber, Alic)  180 points
2) Russia 1 (Borovik, Filippov, Bikmetov, Burenin) 311 points
3) Czech Republic 1 (Palo, Bednar, Tarsinsky, Rataj) 335 points

Female Team:
1) Austria Female (Schwertl, Schosser)  115 points
2) Switzerland Female (Franz, Lutz) 264 points
3) Czech Republic Female (Mynarova, Bursova) 431 points