The History of the FAI Aeromodelling Commission began 1936 when the FAI established Rules for Model Aircraft. Here you can find the complete history of the CIAM, meetings and decisions of the FAI beginning with 1936 and ending today.

The abbreviation CIAM stands for "Commission Internationale d'Aéromodelisme" (French) later renamed to "Commission Internationale Aeromodelling" (English) because the first language in the FAI has changed from French to English.

Tony Aarts and Peter Keim are the authors of this History of the FAI Aeromodelling Commission. Please note that there are links, pictures and legends available in this online edition which are not part of the original edition. The plain text is the original edition.

CIAM Plenary Meeting 1964


World Championships

Years 2010-2016

Years 2000-2009

Years 1990-1999

Years 1980-1989

Years 1970-1979

Years 1960-1969

Years 1950-1959

Years 1936-1949